Marcus & Millichap announced on September 29, 2026, the sale of the Devon Portfolio, four Houston self-storage properties totaling 1,779 units and approximately 259,250 net rentable square feet at roughly 76% occupancy. The LeClaire-Schlosser Group represented the seller; the buyer was not disclosed.
Brokers did not market a stabilized, fully occupied cash-flow bond. They marketed traffic, corridor diversity, and 240 basis points of occupancy upside across a metro where supply growth is slowing nationally but local competition still punishes lazy lease-up.
What Assets Were in the September 29 Devon Portfolio?
Marcus & Millichap grouped four single-story, drive-up-weighted properties:
| Address | Product mix (per M&M) |
|---|---|
| 9840 Bissonnet Street | Drive-up, non-climate-controlled; outdoor vehicle parking |
| 13800 Veterans Memorial Drive | Same |
| 1918 Gessner Road | Drive-up plus ~35,000 NRSF enclosed boat and RV storage |
| 6300 West 43rd Street | Drive-up; outdoor vehicle parking |
Combined footprint: 1,779 units, ~259,250 NRSF, portfolio occupancy ~76% at announcement.
"This portfolio gives the buyer a foothold in four of Houston's most heavily trafficked corridors in one transaction; from more than 190,000 vehicles a day at West 43rd and Highway 290 to dense, established trade areas at Veterans Memorial, Bissonnet, and Gessner. With the portfolio running at approximately 76% occupancy, there's real upside for an operator who can lean into lease-up across all four sites."
- Adam Schlosser, Executive Managing Director Investments, Marcus & Millichap
That language tells you how September 2026 buyers are underwriting Texas: not every Houston trade is a trophy stabilized core. Some are operator bets on marketing, pricing, and boat-RV mix.
Why Does 76% Occupancy Matter in October 2026?
Public REIT occupancy prints in the low 90s on same-store pools. A 76% four-site Houston average signals either recent delivery, deferred marketing, or unit mix that needs repricing. Marcus & Millichap leaned into the gap as upside, not a defect.
That aligns with Argus' September 2026 crossroads briefing: national fundamentals are stabilizing, but property-level performance still diverges. Buyers with operating platforms can buy lease-up when sellers want out of the work.
Contrast the September 30 Opelousas trade at ~99% occupancy with minimal advertising, covered in The Storage Center acquisition article. Same brokerage shop, opposite occupancy stories, same week.
What Role Does Vehicle Storage Play on Gessner Road?
Marcus & Millichap singled out approximately 35,000 net rentable square feet of enclosed boat and RV storage at 1918 Gessner Road.
Vehicle storage carries different insurance, lien, and marketing economics than 5x5 climate-controlled lockers. It also ties to Houston household balance sheets heavy on boats and towables. A buyer buying four sites gets that revenue stream without a separate transaction.
Vehicle lanes also intersect with ancillary revenue programs operators use to lift NOI on parking-heavy sites, the same economics Corgi AI's August 2026 insurance push targets on the protection-plan side of the ledger.
Use: /news/valet-on-demand-storage-competition-self-storage-operators-2026 or skip
I'll use /news/self-storage-lender-appetite-dxd-survey-financing-2026 for financing lease-up
How Does This Houston Trade Fit Texas Deal Flow?
September 2026 Texas storage activity did not pause for soft national advertised rates.
- Uplift and other buyers kept closing Sun Belt assets (different state but same buyer mindset)
- Talonvest placed $47.7 million of permanent debt on six stabilized Texas sites on October 1
- Marcus & Millichap's Houston desk also moved Louisiana and Arizona portfolios the same week
The Devon sale is the value-add bookend to Talonvest's stabilized refinance: same state, different risk curve.
Who Might Buy a 76%-Occupied Houston Four-Pack?
Marcus & Millichap did not name the purchaser. Logical buyer profiles in September 2026 include:
Private operators with Houston density who can centralize marketing and revenue management across four sites.
Institutional capital with a third-party manager willing to fund lease-up for 12-18 months while DXD Capital and other developers still deliver new supply in Texas growth corridors.
Portfolio sellers rotating out of heavy lease-up work while buyers who missed the 2021-2022 stabilized wave accept operational risk for basis.
Without a disclosed price, cap-rate math stays speculative. The broker narrative anchors on occupancy headroom and traffic counts, not a printed yield.
What Should Operators Watch After Closing?
Lease-up at 76% across 259,250 square feet is a systems problem: web rates, call handling, local SEO, and discount discipline must move together. Facilities still running manual pricing in a Houston submarket with active competition will burn months of margin.
Multi-site buyers should also reconcile Texas lien workflows with any corporate compliance calendar hitting NYC's November 1 pricing rules on distant assets. National platforms feel both at once.
The Numbers Worth Writing Down
- Announcement: September 29, 2026
- Portfolio: Devon Portfolio (4 Houston properties)
- Units: 1,779
- Net rentable area: ~259,250 SF
- Occupancy (broker): ~76%
- Vehicle storage highlight: ~35,000 NRSF enclosed boat/RV (Gessner Road)
- Traffic claim: 190,000+ vehicles/day (West 43rd & Highway 290)
- Buyer / price: Not disclosed
- Broker: Marcus & Millichap LeClaire-Schlosser Group (seller)
Lease-Up Is Still a Product
September 2026 proved again that self-storage trades in two currencies: stabilized NOI for lenders and occupancy gap for operators who believe they can market better than the seller.
The Devon Portfolio is the second currency. Until the buyer names itself and prints year-one occupancy, the market only knows that four Houston corridors changed hands in one shot while brokers openly pitched 76% as the opportunity.
Sources
- Marcus & Millichap Closes Four-Property Self-Storage Portfolio in Houston, Marcus & Millichap, September 29, 2026
- Sales & Acquisitions, Modern Storage Media (September 2026 roundup citing Devon Portfolio facts)